MW preseason poll: Rams projected to finish 3rd in Mountain Division

With only one month remaining until Colorado State football opens up the 2018 season against Hawaii at Canvas Stadium, the annual media polls were Tuesday. CSU was projected to finish third in the Mountain Division, behind rivals Boise State and Wyoming. 

Boise State totaled 132 points, including all 22 possible first-place votes. Wyoming had 95 points, followed by CSU at 82. Utah State (78), Air Force (52) and New Mexico (23) . The league made the announcement via Facebook Live during the Mountain West Media Summit in Las Vegas.

On the other side of the conference, Fresno State was picked to win the West Division, taking 16 of the 22 possible first-place votes. San Diego State garnered six first-place votes in second.

Along with the team projections, the preseason all-conference teams were announced as well. Only sophomore punter Ryan Stonehouse received Preseason All-Mountain West recognition though. 

As a true freshman, Stonehouse punted 46 times in 2017 and ranked fifth in the FBS with a 45.9 yard average. He pinned 24 punts inside the 20-yard line and had 18 punts of at least 50 yards.


QB Brett Rypien (Boise State)

WR KeeSean Johnson (Fresno State)

WR McLane Mannix (Nevada)

RB Alexander Mattison (Boise State)

RB Lexington Thomas (UNLV)

OL Ezra Cleveland (Boise State)

OL John Molchon  (Boise State)

OL Aaron Jenkins (New Mexico)

OL Keith Ismael (San Diego State)

OL Tyler Roemer (San Diego State)

TE Dax Raymond (Utah State)


DL David Moa (Boise State)

DL Curtis Weaver (Boise State)

DL Youhanna Ghaifan (Wyoming)

DL Carl Granderson (Wyoming)

LB Jeffrey Allison (Fresno State)

LB Jahlani Tavai (Hawai‘i)

LB Malik Reed (Nevada)

DB Tyler Horton (Boise State)

DB Dameon Baber (Nevada)

DB Tariq Thompson (San Diego State)

DB Andrew Wingard (Wyoming)


P Ryan Stonehouse (Colorado State)

PK Dominik Eberle (Utah State)

KR/PR Avery Williams (Boise State)

Offensive Player of the Year:
QB Brett Rypien (Boise State)

Defensive Player of the Year:
DB Andrew Wingard (Wyoming)

Special Teams Player of the Year:
KR/PR Avery Williams (Boise State)


PHOTO: Elliott Jerge (CSU Athletics)