Cole Rockhold named MW cross country Athlete of the Week

Colorado State's Cole Rockhold has been named the men's Mountain West Cross Country Athlete of the Week after leading the Rams to the program’s highest-ever finish at the Nuttycombe Wisconsin Invitational last weekend.

CSU finished sixth out of 33 teams at the invitational. The top 10 finish put the Rams ahead of 11 ranked teams.

Rockhold finished ninth individually, which is the highest finish by any Ram in the history of the meet. The senior had the highest finish of any CSU team member in the 224-person field and the first top 10 finish in program history.
 
This marks the fourth weekly accolade Rockhold has earned in his career, and his second in cross country. Rockhold, a 2017 All-American in cross country, is the first Ram to receive weekly recognition from the Mountain West this cross country season.
 

The Colorado State cross country team will return to action at Pre-Nationals and at the FHSU Tiger Open on Saturday, Oct. 13. Pre-Nationals will begin at 9 a.m. MT/10 a.m. CT from the Thomas Zimmer Championship Cross Country Course in Madison, Wis. The FHSU Tiger Open is slated for an 8 a.m. MT/9 a.m. CT start from the Sand Plum Nature Trail in Victoria, Kan. 

PHOTO: Justin Tafoya | NCAA Photos