Mostafa Hassan named Indoor Field-Scholar Athlete of the Year

Colorado State's Mostafa Hassan was named the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches' Association (USTFCCCA) Indoor Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year Thursday, headlining a group of 18 Rams that earned individual all-academic status.

Hassan is the first male or female athlete in program history to earn the honor from the USTFCCCA. The Cairo, Egypt native repeated as NCAA indoor shot put champion in March and has a variety of other academic and athletic accolades, including Google Cloud Academic All-America honors. 
The recipient of the USTFCCCA Scholar-Athlete of the Year award must be a national champion in an individual event and have the highest cumulative GPA, provided that respective athlete makes the USTFCCCA All-Academic standard. In the case of multiple national champions who qualify, those who have won multiple individual titles are selected over those who win one.
In order to be eligible for USTFCCCA All-Academic honors, student-athletes must have maintained a cumulative GPA of at least 3.25. In addition, those student-athletes must have either finished the indoor season ranked among the top 96 (top 48 in relays) in their respective events or competed in any round of the NCAA Division I Outdoor Championships (including preliminaries).
In addition, CSU's women's and men's teams were each named all-academic teams. Programs that earned that honor must have competed at their respective national championships and maintained a team GPA of at least 3.0. CSU's women posted a team GPA of 3.32, while the Rams' men compiled a 3.09 team GPA.
Included among the USTFCCCA's all-academic individuals was CSU's Jerrell Mock, who was named a Google Cloud Academic All-American for the second consecutive year. Of CSU's 18 all-academic individuals, 11 represent the Rams' women's team, while seven are members of the men's team.

USTFCCCA All-Academic Individuals – CSU Women
Kelcey Bedard
Jasmine Chesson
Autumn Gardner
Darby Gilfillan
Linnea Jonsson
Ali Kallner
Aimee Larrabee
Destinee Rocker
Roxy Trotter
Dominique Ward
McKenzie Wright 

USTFCCCA All-Academic Individuals – CSU Men
Alex Blaho
Austin Blaho
Grant Fischer
Wayde Hall
Mostafa Hassan
Carson Hume
Jerrell Mock

PHOTO: Juan LeBreche | NCAA Photos