CSU volleyball projected to win MW, Oleksak named preseason Player of the Year

The Colorado State volleyball team is projected to win the conference heading into the 2018 season. The Rams also filled the preseason all-MW team with four of the seven positions, including Katie Oleksak, who was named the Preseason Player of the Year by the league’s coaches, the Mountain West Conference announced Wednesday. 

Along with Oleksak, Kirstie Hillyer was also named to the preseason team for a second straight season, while Paulina Hougaard-Jensen and Breana Runnels were named to the preseason team for the first time. All four Rams earned Mountain West All-Conference honors in 2017, including Oleksak (2017 MW Player of the Year) and Runnels (Newcomer of the Year).

Sabryn Roberts (Boise State), Deja Harris (San Diego State) and Luiza Andrade (San Jose State) rounded out the preseason all-conference team.

The Rams, who were picked to win the conference for a fifth consecutive year, received 100 votes, including 10 of the 11 total first place votes. Behind CSU, Wyoming totalled 91 votes and the final first-place vote. Boise State and San Diego State tied to finish third with 75 points.

The Rams have won 14 of the 19 regular-season Mountain West titles and holds a 265-37 (.877) league record since the conference was founded. CSU has been tabbed to finish first in the Mountain West preseason poll 11 total times and have received at least one first-place vote every season. Of the previous 10 times the Rams were picked to win the MW, they went on to win the league eight times.


1. Colorado State (100) 

2. Wyoming (91)

T3. Boise State (75)

T3. San Diego State  (75)

5. New Mexico (59)

6. San José State (56)

7. Fresno State (39)

T8. Air Force (31)

T8. Utah State (31)

10. Nevada (25)

11. UNLV (23)


Sabryn Roberts, Sr., OH, Boise State

Kirstie Hillyer, R-Jr., MB, Colorado State

Paulina Hougaard-Jensen, Jr., MB, Colorado State

Katie Oleksak, Jr., S, Colorado State (Preseason Player of the Year)

Breana Runnels, R-So., OH, Colorado State

Deja Harris, Sr., MB, San Diego State              

Luiza Andrade, Sr., L, San José State

PHOTO: Rocky Mountain Collegian